Due to the ongoing rise of Nigerians looking for alternative routes to improve their financial status and seek greener pastures elsewhere, this question – top countries that accept Nigerian passport happens to be one of the recent most asked questions currently as citizens are looking to ply their trade elsewhere. For many Nigerians, this is “Japa” season. “Japa” means “escape” in Yoruba. The phrase means “to leave the nation” in this context. People “Japa” on a daily basis for a variety of reasons, the most prominent of which is the deteriorating economic condition and insecurity that keep degrading the country.

The Nigerian passport is presently ranked 96th, with 45 visa-free places accessible with a Nigerian passport. Please keep in mind that the list of visa-free nations is computed to represent the number of countries into which Nigerian passport holders can visit without a visa, via a visa on arrival, or via the eTA.

Yet, many people are unable to leave the nation because they are unaware that as a Nigerian, you may travel to countries without obtaining an embassy visa. Yep, you read that correctly. In reality, as a Nigerian, you may travel to over 45 Visa on arrival, e-Visa, and visa-free nations.

Read Also: 6000+ Visa Sponsor jobs in the United States

What is a Passport?

A passport is an official document issued by a government, certifying the holder’s identity and citizenship and entitling them to travel under its protection to and from foreign countries.

A passport is used to verify one’s country of citizenship. If traveling outside your country, it is used to regain entry into your country of citizenship. Passports include your photo, name, birth date, gender, and physical characteristics.

Types of Nigerian Passports?

There are five types of Nigerian passports which include;

  • Standard,
  • Diplomatic,
  • Official,
  • Seamans,
  • Pilgrims.

Standard Passport

Also referred to as the ordinary passport. The standard passport is the most common type of passport in Nigeria. This is used by citizens who are not in the top tier of the government, military, or government security agencies. The cover of this passport is usually green and its validity period is for ten years with a minimum of five years.

Diplomatic Passport

High-ranking government officials use diplomatic passports to travel overseas more easily. It is also often used by ambassadors stationed abroad. The bearer can cross international borders while avoiding many of the usual travel rules that normal passport holders must adhere to. The use of a diplomatic passport indicates that the possessor is on official government business.

The cost of a diplomatic passport varies according to the nation of issuing. It is usually easy to distinguish from a typical tourist passport. It will most likely be a different color, with the words “Diplomatic Passport” written on the cover.

India, for example, has a white official passport and a crimson diplomatic passport. The color distinction makes it simple for border officers to recognize a government official and grant them the appropriate privileges.

Read Also: Best Countries to Work Abroad in Europe And Earn High

What Are the Advantages of a Diplomatic Passport?

There are many benefits to having a diplomatic passport. Traveling internationally with this type of travel document affords the holder certain benefits that those with a regular tourist passport do not have.

Diplomatic protection
Individuals who hold a diplomatic passport are immune from lawsuits or prosecution.

This immunity is nevertheless subject to limits. To a certain degree, and at the discretion of their host nation, a foreign diplomat is immune from the legislation.

Unmistakable identify as a government official
When traveling with a diplomatic passport, the possessor is immediately identified as a government official. Authorities can recognize persons who are on official government business and treat them accordingly.

Visa-free travel to specific countries
Several nations allow diplomatic passport holders to enter their countries without a visa. This enables government officials to travel more freely by expediting immigration inspections.

Official Passport

Official passport is the type of passport given to government officials such as governors, permanent secretaries, secretary-general of the federation, CBN governor, army, and other military officials, as well as officials of other government parastatals. Its cover is blue.

Seaman’s Passport

The seaman’s passport is the type of passport that is given to people who work on the sea or ocean. It is basically for sailors and it has a maroon cover.

Read Also: Top UK Job Sites

Pilgrim Passport

A Pilgrim passport is the type of passport given to people embarking on pilgrimages to holy lands such as Jerusalem and Mecca. Travellers Niche reports that it is usually valid for six months and does not have a stable cover color due to security concerns.

This page includes 48 countries where you may go as a Nigerian without getting your passport stamped. However, most of these countries are all African countries.

Top Countries that Accept Nigerian Passports

Countries offering visa-free, visa-on-arrival, and e-visa access to Nigerians as of the time of this report include Benin Republic, Burkina Faso, Cameroun, Cabo Verde, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Others include Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Timor-Leste, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Haiti, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Suriname, Fiji, Micronesia, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

In retrospect, it can be deduced that the average Nigerian will need a visa to visit any European country.

Leave A Reply